Last night I came back to the City on BART after the class I’m taking in Berkeley got out.  It was 10pm, and it had been a really long day.

From where I live, a bus ride home from downtown is unfortunately not so swift at 10pm.  Other neighhorhoods have more direct and frequent service in the late evenings.  I always resort to the taxis after coming back from class because it’s late and I figure getting home fast is money well spent.

I often try snagging a cab in front of the Hyatt Regency Embarcadero Hotel, were there is typically a line of cabs waiting along Drumm Street.  But last night was different.  As I got above ground from the subway station, I saw that there were about a dozen people waving their arms in the air trying to catch a taxi.  Strangely, no little yellow cars were driving by.  When one finally came up, I started to approach it even though I felt bad because I knew there were other people who started flagging down a cab before I got there. 

The cab driver turned off his car, and quickly ran into the hotel while telling me, “I gotta pee… Give me 5 minutes…”

I sort of gave up at this location and walked a few blocks down the street, which allowed me to finally catch a cab. 

On the quiet ride home, I got to thinking about the following possible way cabbies could make better use of their time:

