Walking to the bus today I was listening to an very entertaining “Adam Carolla Show” podcast.  The big tall guy from “Everybody Loves Raymond” was on the show.  I was excited to listen to the show on my ride into work.

As I walked into the bus I was laughing away at what I was listening to and enjoying myself.  I then noticed a friend of mine who also had white earphones on.  He looked like he was jamming to his favorite playlist. 

I can’t think of another social situation in which two friends could be so unhappy to see eachother.  I almost didn’t sit next to him.  We both slowly and forcefully pulled the headseats out of our ears.  We conducted a “textbook” small-talk-conversation.  Both of us wanted to enjoy our recorded audio and not have to do any thinking, but didn’t want to be rude…

